On DAZN, ex-Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher touted McCarthur as ‘extremely lucky’ to escape being sent off by Dean.
“It’s difficult for me to say [why VAR didn’t consider it a red card],” Gallagher explained.
“I’m with Glenn [Murray] and Wrighty [Ian Wright]. I think, you know, Saka clears the ball, McArthur goes in and doesn’t pull out, and I think he’s extremely lucky not to get a red card.
“This came from a free-kick given away by Saka ironically 43 seconds earlier, and if you’re able to roll me the free-kick that Saka gave away, he also got a yellow card.
Follow our new Daily Express Instagram page HERE