MANCHESTER UNITED should have been given a penalty when Callum Hudson-Odoi handled in the box.
Under ‘Law 12 — handling the ball’, referee Stuart Attwell had to ask himself the following:
- Was Hudson-Odoi’s arm in an unnatural position? My view is yes it was.
- Did he deliberately move his arm or hand towards the ball? Again, that’s a yes for me.
However, this was a subjective call and a really tough decision for Attwell in real time.
I didn’t think VAR needed to get involved as it wasn’t a clear and obvious error.
In fact, at first I thought United’s Mason Greenwood had handled.
Once Attwell went to the monitor, I expected a penalty.
And although United will be frustrated, I respect him for sticking to his decision.
CASINO SIGN UP OFFER: CLAIM UP TO £800 IN CASINO BONUS CASH
Luke Shaw accused Attwell of saying he could not give a penalty because it would be controversial.
If that is true, Attwell should not be saying that.
⚽ Read our Football live blog for the very latest news from around the grounds